Allure (Spiral of Bliss 2) by Nina Lane

Book Title: Allure
Author: Nina Lane
Genre: Contemporary Romance / Adult
My Rating: 5Stars & Wow
Book hangover:YES !!! YES!! this series will be with me for life
Stand Alone / Series: Second book of Spiral of Bliss series. A sequel to Arouse
Read if you enjoy: Marriage problem / deep emotional read
Characters likability: Intense chemistry, Love them & very real like characters
Sexual content : R rated with plenty smut & sexing

Blurb:

 “We both want this so badly. I can feel it resonating between us like the hot pull of our first attraction, tangible and intense.”

After lies and betrayal almost destroy their marriage, Dean and Olivia West reignite their blissful passion. The medieval history professor and his lovely wife are determined to fix their mistakes, and Liv’s unexpected pregnancy intensifies their desire to fall madly in love all over again.

Then a family crisis forces Dean back into a feud with his parents and siblings, dredging up guilt over a painful family secret. Dean fights to shield Liv from the hostility, but for the first time, Liv resists her white knight’s defense. Her newfound resolve clashes with Dean’s desperate need to protect her.

Liv and Dean have battled obstacles together before, but bitter family conflicts now endanger their fragile intimacy. And when Dean’s career is suddenly threatened, he and Liv must struggle with events that could damage them in ways they had never imagined

My honest review: 

IF YOU HAVEN’T READ AROUSE, PLEASE DO NOT READ THIS REVIEW

As the first book Arouse, this book delivers yet another unbelievably RAW & REAL emotional struggles between Dean & Liv. The storyline was cleverly constructed alternating flashed back from the past and the present’s troubles from both Liv & Dean’s POV. You would have thought you already have known a lot of Liv & Dean’s past from the first book, but this book gives you a deeper insight to their life. I like the fact that I get to read more of Dean’s POV in this book,just makes you fall in love with him more.

“Right now I want you naked against me,” Dean says. “I want to wake up cold because you’ve hogged all the blankets. I want to feel your leg between mine, your hair in my face, your arm flung across my chest. I want to find myself on the edge of the bed in the morning because you’ve sprawled all over the mattress. I want to sleep with you.”
Nina Lane, Allure

“I knew I could be everything for him that he was for me. I could heal his wounds, be his anchor, treasure him. Together we could create our own world, one of warmth and affection, protected from the slings and arrows of the world.
For despite our differences, our struggles, our childhoods at opposite ends of the spectrum… Dean and I were the same.”
Nina Lane, Allure 


The drama in this book may not be as intense and angst as the first book, but I still bond a strong connection with it. The dialogs are more emotionally heartfelt, the passion are rawer and the pain are unimaginably devastating.  Its a story about maintaining and fighting for your happy ever after.  This book moved me so much and have made me reflect on my own life. To know your in love with someone so much with all of your good intention to protect them but still somehow feel like you fail them. It’s just Gut-wrenching, and tear jerking to read. I can’t wait to read the next book, and to see they grow more in love

 “The allure, huh?”

“I’ve learned a few things about castle architecture over the years.” Liv wraps one arm around my waist. “The allure is a passage behind the parapet of a castle wall. Great for defense when the enemy is approaching. You know you’re safe on the allure.” She tucks her head beneath my chin, twining her hand with mine. “Like we’re safe with each other.”

“No doubt about it, beauty.” I press my face against her sweet-smelling hair. “You’ll always be my allure.”

Nina Lane, Allure

Have your say!!

