Beautiful Disaster by Jamie Mcguire

Book Title: Beautiful Disaster
Author: Jamie Mcguire
Genre: Romance / YA
My Rating: 3 Stars
Book hangover: It will leave you emotionally shell-shocked, you’ll be pulling your hair reading it.
Stand Alone / Series: Stand alone, but there’s another book with Travis’s POV Walking Disaster
Read if you enjoy: Fighter / Antsy drama / love triangle / Alpha male

Blurb: 

Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate number of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance from the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

 Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby wants—and needs—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match

Book Trailer:

 This is actually a fan video for beautiful disaster by Charis Sorella

My honest review:

The book in general has good gripping story line and the writing is flawless. If a brilliant book means it is a book that trigger emotional turmoil inside you & made you feel pulling your hair out, then this the “potentially Brilliant book”.  I was literary in a mess reading this. This book is definitely not for the faint hearted.

The story takes us from Abby Abernathy POV. Abby & her best friend America just enrolled in Eastern Uni leaving the home far behind. There she meet notorious bad boy player Travis, the type of man she exactly needs to stay away from. Travis is determined though to get Abby , thus the bet took place.

 “I knew the second I met you that there was something about you I needed. Turns out it

wasn’t something about you at all. It was just you.” 

 ― Jamie McGuireBeautiful Disaster

The dialogs are funny and heart-felt. There’s plenty of antsy scene and also sexy scene. So why am I giving only 3 Stars?? Well its just simply that the characters didn’t impress me much. In fact I’m borderline annoyed me. Personally I think both of them seem a bit childish. I love antsy drama don’t get me wrong, but I can go on on a rant ( on and on and on) about Travis & Abby and why are they an absolute disaster. However I won’t do it here , it will just spoil other people read. (add me on Goodreads though if want to rant it with me lol).

 “To douchebags!” he said, gesturing to Brad. “And to girls that break your heart,” he bowed his head to me. His eyes lost focus. “And to the absolute fucking horror of losing your best friend because you were stupid enough to fall in love with her.” 

― Jamie McGuireBeautiful Disaster

I definitely get the disaster part of this book. In saying that, don’t let my 3 stars put off your reading. Personally I’m glad I experience the emotional turmoil reading this book, even it left me ranting afterwards. It is still a well written book, may be I’m not psyche about the book but may be you will.

 

Have your say!!

