Point of Retreat (Slammed 2) by Colleen Hoover


Book Title:   Point Of Retreat
Author: Colleen Hoover
Genre: Romance  / Inspirational / YA
My Rating: 5 Stars & WOW
Book hangover: Yes this series ruin other books for me.The words are so inspiring and uplifting that I re-read it again & again. Only another book from Colleen Hoover can fill the gap in my hearts
Stand Alone / Series: Second book in the Slammed series, The first book is Slammed in case if you haven’t read it yet
Read if you enjoy: Reading Inspirational life discovery / beautiful poetry

Blurb:

 Hardships and heartache brought them together…now it will tear them apart. 

Layken and Will have proved their love can get them through anything; until someone from Will’s past re-emerges, leaving Layken questioning the very foundation on which their relationship was built. Will is forced to face the ultimate challenge…how to prove his love for a girl who refuses to stop ‘carving pumpkins.’


My honest review:

IF YOU HAVEN’T READ SLAMMED PLEASE STOP FOR READING THIS REVIEW FURTHER.

I couldn’t emphasis how brilliant a writer Colleen is. Every time I finished reading her book, I get goosebumps. The only writer I could compare Colleen to is may be JK Rowling. Although there’s nothing remotely similar in their writing style or even genre, but I get the similar adrenaline rush reading Slammed series as I read Harry Potter. Her characters pops out the book, when you open her book you step in  new world and you feel like the characters are your own friend.

Point of retreat is a beautiful sequel to Slammed. Another Awe-inspiring, tear-jerking romance.
I finished reading both Slammed & point of retreat in 2 days, that’s how addictive these books are. I laughed , I cried , I’m a part of the gang, I’m sad when I finished the book because I want more of them. If this is not good enough recommendation I will bribe people to read this book.

This book takes you through Will Cooper point of view, as Will & Lake take on bigger responsibility going to college and at the same time being role model to their younger brother. We’ll get a chance to get more insight in Will head, learn about his bitter past. Together both Will & Lake endure their new hardship, will they able to this on their own?  you’ll have to read and find out. I don’t know want to get to in more details about the characters or the plot, as this book its not about that at all. Its about absorbing your self with each inspirational words and poetries, It’s about being a part of their world. If you understand the the world butterflying or suck an sweet or craving pumpkin, and use that word in your daily conversation that you truly get what i meant.

This is a video by Marty Schoenleber III reciting ‘Lake‘ poetry. This dude is just slammingly brilliant.

And as this book is so butterflying beautiful I’m ending by review with the poetry Butterfly from Point of Retreat. Happy reading !

 

“Butterfly.
What a beautiful word
What a delicate creature.
Delicate like the cruel words that flow right out of your mouths and the food that flies right out of your hands…
Does it make you feel better?
Does it make you feel good ?
Does picking on a girl make you more of a man?
Well, I’m standing up for myself
Like I should have done before
I’m not putting up with your Butterfly anymore.”
(Kiersten slides the sack off her wrist and opens it, pulling out a handful of hand-made butterflies. She takes the microphone out of the stand and begins walking down the stairs as she continues speaking.)
“I’d like to extend to others what others have extended to me.”
(She walks up to Mrs. Brill first and holds out a butterfly)
“Butterfly you, Mrs. Brill.”
(Mrs. Brill smiles at her and takes the butterfly out of her hands. Lake laughs out loud and I have to nudge her to get her to be quiet. Kiersten walks around the room, passing out butterflies to several of the students, including the three from the lunchroom.)
“Butterfly you, Mark.
Butterfly you, Brendan.
Butterfly you, Colby.”
(When she finishes passing out the butterflies, she walks back onto the stage and places the microphone back into the stand.)
“I have one thing to say to you
And I’m not referring to the bullies
Or the ones they pursue.
I’m referring to those of you that just stand by
The ones who don’t take up for those of us that cry
Those of you who just…turn a blind eye.
After all it’s not you it’s happening to
You aren’t the one being bullied
And you aren’t the one being rude
It isn’t your hand that’s throwing the food
But…it is your mouth not speaking up
It is your feet not taking a stand
It is your arm not lending a hand
It is your heart
Not giving a damn.
So take up for yourself
Take up for your friends
I challenge you to be someone
Who doesn’t give in.
Don’t give in.
Don’t let them win.”
Colleen Hoover,
Point of Retreat

 




 

Have your say!!

