Darkness Before Dawn (Darkness 2) by Claire Contreras

17251561
Book TitleDarkness before Dawn
Author: Claire Contreras
Genre: Romance / Suspense Thriller / Mystery
My Rating: 4.5 Stars
Book hangover: Must read after the ever brutal cliff hanger from the first book.
Stand alone / Series: Second book of Darkness series
Read if you enjoy: Puzzling mystery, Romance with over the edge suspense

Blurb:

Is love ever enough?

Faced with obstacles she could have never imagined, Blake is brought to darkness and back by forces in her past she never knew existed.
Desperate to stay connected to the only thing he loves, Cole is forced to revisit his past and align himself with the people who knew about Blake’s disappearance.
Separation has forced both Blake and Cole to learn how to live under the worst circumstances, each of them alone in their own hell.

When they reunite, can they be the same two people they were before darkness swept upon them?
Told in separate points of view, Darkness Before Dawn is the continuation of Blake and Cole’s fight to make it to the light

My honest review:

DO NOT READ THIS REVIEW IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE FIRST BOOK There’s no light in darkness

After being left with ever devastating cliff hanger from the last book, I’m euphoric to finally get a hand on this book. The last book left me hung up with so many questions, and now that I read Darkness before Dawn, I must say I was shocked with the revealing of their dark tangled & twisted past, but at the same time I was a little disappointing that the book seem to be too focus on the mystery element that it took away the magic of the actual romance between the characters.

Don’t get me wrong there’s plenty of hot smut & sexing between Cole & Blake in this book, and I was swoon by Cole. If you want to read about a man who devout his entirely life to the one women he love, than Cole is it. If the meaning of “I love you to the moon and back” in the last book took your breath away, in this book, you be left with goosebumps & tears. I adore him completely, to a point I feel like slapping Blake, every time she tries to  shuts him out again.

However the family secrets in this book is so complicated & tangled that I felt like the romancing wasn’t that important to me. I kept wanting to know what happen next, that I found myself not caring about the smut at all. (may be its just me being impatient). The book is definitely can’t be put down, I enjoyed reading & discovering it as the secrets unveils. Did I see any of it coming, NO absolutely not, I love it when the book surprised me.  I absolutely love a good mystery book but if your hoping for the same level of wooing in the first book you may be disappointing.

In contrast to the first book, (written from Blake’s point of view) this book is written from both Blake & Cole’s perspective in the present. You will meet a few new characters in this book, one being Dean ( you seen him briefly following Blake around in the first book), Conor Benson, Brian Benson, Liam Brennan, Alex & Benny O’Brien.  You also get to see a plenty of antsy Alpha male jealously between Cole & Dean in this book too. Though I love reading about the new characters but somehow I felt it overshadowed the old ones. I was hopping to see more of Audry & Aimee  development in this book but it didn’t cover as much as I was hoping for.

All over the book was beautifully written, I still loved every roller coaster journey their endure, I love the strong family love they have for each other. This book is discovering who your family really are, Family doesn’t have to be defined  blood as long as you love each other that’s your family & and that’s home.


Have your say!!

