Beautifully Damage by L.A Fiore

16079228
Book Title: Beautifully Damage
Author: L.A Foire
Genre: Contemporary Romance / Adult / Romantic Comedy
My Rating: 4 Stars
Book hangover:  A little
Stand Alone / Series:  Stand Alone
Read if you enjoy: Broken Alpha Male / mysteries
Characters likability: Strong hate & love feeling towards them
Sexual content : R rated mild smut

Blurb:

Ember Walsh was always the quiet one, enjoying a book and a glass of wine over the noise and crowds of a club, but when her best friend asks her to come out and meet the boy she likes Ember’s world is turned upside down. He appears like a mythical avenging angel, inked, gorgeous and completely out of her league but one look and Ember no longer wants the quiet, she wants him.

Trace Montgomery has buried his damaged past with women and fighting until one day he meets an angel and suddenly he wants more, he wants her. For her, he’s determined to overcome his demons but will the dark secret that links their pasts bring them closer or will it tear them apart

My honest review: 

My friend asked me to buddy read this book with her. We initially expected this book will be a giddy read, you know fighter alpha male caveman swoon worthy type of book, but it is not. This book is something else. Half way point she gave up on this book. I almost did too, but I’m happy that I continued to finished it. This is one book that I find really hard to rate. I can understand now why there’s mixed rating on this book. Some people really hate it some absolutely adore it. So I’m going to do 2 part review for this book.

The story begins with Ember being rescued by Trace from a drunk A-hole in a club. After the initial meeting Ember keep bumping into Trace with different women, well being the womaniser he is. They finally go on dating, although Trace is attracted to Ember but he keep pushing her away, because he thinks he is not worthy of her. Ember being a believer that she could save Trace, keep on fighting for his love. (This is the recurrent theme of the book- ‘SAVING THE BROKEN HERO‘). The book synopsis may portray Ember as a quite shy girl, but I don’t feel like that at all reading the book, I think she’s strong and very wilful women.

The first part of the book was lacking chemistry and made me antsy. The scenes are not fully explored well, and I can barely feel excitement about it and then the scenes are cut off, leaving me to presume what happen next my self. Some scene are irrelevant and I wished the writer could focus on the character development more. I like to feel more chemistry to get me hooked to the book. It is not badly written per se, but there’s a lot of conjunctions error, and there’s no indication of page break between scenes. You’ll be reading a couple of paragraphs and the next paragraph will jump you straight to a new scene, and when that happens lot, it is really annoying. The story only kicks in about half way through the book, this is only when I start feeling connected to the story. So I’m only giving 2 stars for the first half.

Ok the second part of the book, the story line changed completely. From your average girls meet boy to intense suspenses, you’ll be learning more about Trace dark past. So if you already endured the first part of the book, then keep reading as the real story just started to kick in. To me the first part of the book , was about introducing the “problems” and the second part was the mine field of “answers”. The second part was filled with mysteries and suspenses, definitely a page turner. I was Awed & Amazed I truly didn’t expect any of it coming! It blew my mind away. It was brilliant! I want to give the second part 5++Stars, for the amazing story line, but since I’m still annoyed with the page break issue, and the fact some steamy scenes are still cut short (what an anti-climax). I was also confused as  what really Trace does, he was portrays as an amateur fighter, but the writer only explore fighting profession mostly on the first part of a book, in the second part he seem to taken a lot of interest in cooking more. ( I mean how confusing is that?) So I’m only giving it 4.5Stars for the second part.

Potentially this book could be a masterpiece, but there’s a lot of editorial rewriting need to be done. I wished this book could be rewritten and republished (especially the first part)! It is such a injustice to see a book with a mind blowing story line, but lacking that good editorial. So if you could ignore some of the flaws, this book is just simply an amazing read. 4 big stars all together.

Have your say!!

